Europe · all countries · model A — Open prescription market

Medical cannabis in Poland

Established but entirely self-paid

Medical cannabis is legal in Poland as a pharmacy-compounded preparation on an Rpw prescription that any doctor may write, but since 7 November 2024 the doctor must examine you in person, and you pay the entire cost yourself.

The hardest fact about Poland. A Polish cannabis prescription is not a defence when driving: THC is listed as a substance acting like alcohol, Polish law sets no legal blood-THC limit at all, and a patient stopped with THC in their blood faces the same offence as any other driver.

Every answer below was read in the law, the register or the official statistic itself. This country has its own edition on this site; norms and register names stay in the original language so you can check them.

The questions, answered for Poland

How access works here

The one-line answer: can a new patient start today, and through what.

A — open prescription market with a narcotic-prescription gate. Any physician may prescribe cannabis flower or extract as a pharmaceutical raw material for a pharmacy-compounded medicine on an 'Rpw' e-prescription; there is no public reimbursement and a large private/telemedicine layer.

Legal basis is art. 33a of the ustawa o przeciwdziałaniu narkomanii (Act on Counteracting Drug Addiction), which admits cannabis herb/extracts/tinctures as 'surowiec farmaceutyczny' (pharmaceutical raw material) for compounded medicines after registration by the URPL — the ISAP legal text could not be opened this session (robots block), so the article is cited from knowledge, not from an opened page. The Ministry of Health prescription page (updated 07.01.2025) states the operative gate: a medicine containing środki odurzające or substancje psychotropowe (category Rpw) 'może zostać wystawiona tylko w postaci elektronicznej i tylko w ilości odpowiadającej maksymalnie 90 dniom stosowania'; such prescriptions are valid 30 days from issue with no deferred start, and only physicians (not nurses, pharmacists or feldshers) may prescribe them. Cannabis preparations are not on the reimbursement list; patients pay the full price of the compounded medicine.

Source: Ministerstwo Zdrowia (Ministry of Health) — Recepta: zasady wystawiania i realizacji (prescription rules, incl. Rpw), updated 07.01.2025 · read 27 September 2026

What may be prescribed

What the law allows a doctor to write on a prescription here.

Dried cannabis flower and standardised extracts are legal, but not as finished medicines: they are pharmaceutical raw materials that a pharmacy compounds into an individual preparation for you. On 6 September 2026 the state register listed 68 cannabis raw materials — 56 dried-flower products and 12 extracts — of which 62 still had a marketing authorisation in date, from 22 authorisation holders, with THC declared from under 1% up to 30%.

Art. 33a ust. 1 ustawy z dnia 29 lipca 2005 r. o przeciwdziałaniu narkomanii (t.j. Dz. U. z 2023 r. poz. 1939), added by the ustawa z dnia 7 lipca 2017 r. (Dz. U. 2017 poz. 1458, in force 1 November 2017): "Ziele konopi innych niż włókniste oraz wyciągi, nalewki farmaceutyczne, a także wszystkie inne wyciągi z konopi innych niż włókniste oraz żywica konopi innych niż włókniste (...) mogą stanowić surowiec farmaceutyczny (...) przeznaczony do sporządzania leków recepturowych (...) po uzyskaniu pozwolenia na dopuszczenie do obrotu wydanego przez Prezesa Urzędu Rejestracji Produktów Leczniczych" — cannabis herb, extracts, pharmaceutical tinctures and resin may be a pharmaceutical raw material for compounded medicines once the President of URPL grants a marketing authorisation. Art. 33a ust. 3: the authorisation runs for 5 years. Products are NOT in the main Rejestr Produktów Leczniczych export (a full download of that register on 2026-09-05 contained no cannabis raw material at all — only Sativex and Epidyolex as finished medicines); they sit in a separate CeZ sub-register, the Lista Surowców Farmaceutycznych (LSF). Naming follows the Komunikat Prezesa URPL z 16 lipca 2019: Latin name plus declared THC and CBD content, "nazwy fantazyjne nie będą akceptowane".

Source: Lista Surowców Farmaceutycznych (LSF), Centrum e-Zdrowia — full XML export, stan na dzień 2026-09-06 · read 6 September 2026

Who may prescribe

Whether you need a specialist, and whether anyone has to approve it first.

Any doctor or dentist holding a valid Polish licence to practise may prescribe it. There is no specialist requirement, no approval or notification step, and no legal list of qualifying conditions — the indication is left entirely to the prescriber. Only veterinarians are excluded.

Nothing in the ustawa o przeciwdziałaniu narkomanii, the Prawo farmaceutyczne or the rozporządzenie w sprawie środków odurzających restricts prescribing to a specialty or to named indications. Art. 33b ust. 4 zd. 2 uopn contains the only express exclusion: "Recepta na lek recepturowy, o którym mowa w art. 33a ust. 1, nie może być wystawiona przez lekarza weterynarii." The practical restriction is procedural, not clinical: under § 7 ust. 2a pkt 2 rozporządzenia Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 11 września 2006 r. (t.j. Dz. U. z 2025 r. poz. 1678) the prescription may be issued only "po uprzednim (...) osobistym zbadaniu pacjenta przez osobę wystawiającą receptę". The Rzecznik Praw Obywatelskich challenged the accessibility impact of that rule (case V.7010.71.2023); the Ministry answered that "przepisywanie produktów leczniczych zawierających substancje objęte wyjątkową kontrolą nie może mieć charakteru komercyjnego".

Source: Ustawa o przeciwdziałaniu narkomanii, art. 33a–33b (t.j. Dz. U. z 2023 r. poz. 1939) · read 6 September 2026

Type of prescription

The form itself: which prescription, how long it is valid, how much it covers.

Rpw — the strictest Polish prescription category, and it must be electronic (e-recepta): the Ministry of Health's position since 1 November 2023 is that no paper prescription may be issued for this category at all, even when the system is down. One prescription may cover at most 90 days of treatment, up to three prescriptions may be written for consecutive periods totalling no more than 90 days, and each prescription must be dispensed within 30 days of the date it was issued.

Cannabis herb, its extracts and cannabis resin are środki odurzające grupy I-N (poz. 113 and 188 in Załącznik nr 1 do rozporządzenia MZ w sprawie wykazu substancji psychotropowych, środków odurzających..., t.j. Dz. U. z 2024 r. poz. 1139). Art. 33b ust. 4 zd. 1 uopn assigns the compounded medicine the availability category of art. 23a ust. 1 pkt 4 Prawa farmaceutycznego — "wydawane z przepisu lekarza, zawierające środki odurzające lub substancje psychotropowe (...) – Rpw". Art. 95b ust. 1a pkt 1 Prawa farmaceutycznego (t.j. Dz. U. z 2026 r. poz. 612): an Rpw prescription "jest wystawiana wyłącznie w postaci elektronicznej". Art. 95b ust. 2 still lists general paper exceptions (no access to the P1 system, cross-border, unknown identity), but the Ministry's communication of 31 October 2023 states that from 1 November 2023 "nie będzie można wystawić recepty w postaci papierowej na ww. kategorie leków"; reading ust. 2 as surviving for Rpw is a contested position, not the official one. Quantity and validity: § 7 ust. 1 and 2 and § 10 ust. 1 rozporządzenia MZ z 11 września 2006 r. (t.j. Dz. U. z 2025 r. poz. 1678) — "nie przekracza zapotrzebowania pacjenta na maksymalnie 90 dni stosowania", "do 3 recept na następujące po sobie okresy stosowania nieprzekraczające łącznie 90 dni", and dispensing "nie później niż w ciągu 30 dni od daty ich wystawienia". Only one narcotic preparation per prescription and nothing else on it (§ 6 ust. 2).

Source: Rozporządzenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 11 września 2006 r. w sprawie środków odurzających, substancji psychotropowych, prekursorów kategorii 1 i preparatów zawierających te środki lub substancje — tekst jednolity, Dz. U. z 2025 r. poz. 1678 · read 6 September 2026

Telemedicine

Whether a prescription can lawfully begin in a video call.

Remote prescribing of medical cannabis was closed on 7 November 2024. Since then a cannabis prescription may be issued only after the prescriber has examined the patient in person. The single exception: a doctor working under an NFZ primary-care (POZ) contract who is continuing an existing cannabis treatment may still prescribe without an in-person examination — that exception does not cover night-and-holiday care, and does not cover private telemedicine clinics at all.

Rozporządzenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 29 października 2024 r. (Dz. U. 2024 poz. 1600), in force 7 November 2024, added § 7 ust. 2a pkt 2 and Załącznik nr 2 to the 2006 narcotics regulation. § 7 ust. 2a pkt 2: the prescription is issued only after "osobistym zbadaniu pacjenta przez osobę wystawiającą receptę – jeżeli jest przepisywany preparat zawierający środek odurzający (...), których wykaz określa załącznik nr 2". Załącznik nr 2 ("WYKAZ ŚRODKÓW ODURZAJĄCYCH (...) KTÓRYCH PRZEPISANIE NA RECEPCIE JEST MOŻLIWE PO OSOBISTYM ZBADANIU PACJENTA") lists, at items 4 and 5: "Konopi ziele innych niż włókniste oraz wyciągi, nalewki farmaceutyczne, a także wszystkie inne wyciągi z konopi innych niż włókniste" and "Żywica konopi" — alongside fentanyl, morphine and oxycodone. § 7 ust. 2d carves out only NFZ primary care: the in-person requirement does not apply to "lekarza udzielającego świadczeń (...) z zakresu podstawowej opieki zdrowotnej (...), z wyłączeniem umowy dotyczącej nocnej i świątecznej opieki zdrowotnej, jeżeli lekarze ci kontynuują leczenie". The effect was immediate: Centrum e-Zdrowia figures given to Rynek Zdrowia show cannabis prescriptions falling from about 72,000 in October 2024 to about 31,000 in November 2024. No further amendment has been made since — the consolidated text of 24 November 2025 records the October 2024 change as the last one.

Source: Rozporządzenie MZ z 11.09.2006 (t.j. Dz. U. z 2025 r. poz. 1678), § 7 ust. 2a–2d i Załącznik nr 2, wprowadzone rozporządzeniem MZ z 29.10.2024 (Dz. U. 2024 poz. 1600) · read 6 September 2026

Dispensing

Which pharmacy can actually hand it over.

Any Polish community pharmacy or pharmacy point may dispense it — no special cannabis licence exists — but the pharmacy must be able to store narcotics securely and must actually have the specific raw material in stock, and stock is the real bottleneck. There is no official register of which pharmacies hold cannabis, and no official shortage list records it.

Art. 41 ust. 1 ustawy o przeciwdziałaniu narkomanii: "Obrót detaliczny środkami odurzającymi (...) będącymi produktami leczniczymi prowadzą apteki i punkty apteczne, zapewniając odpowiednie warunki ich przechowywania uniemożliwiające dostęp osób nieuprawnionych"; ust. 2 requires a specially marked prescription. Wholesale supply needs a GIF narcotics licence (art. 40 ust. 1). The state Rejestr Aptek listed 13,732 active pharmacy entities on 2026-09-06, of which 10,970 apteki ogólnodostępne and 1,107 punkty apteczne — but its only field about scope of activity (zakres_dzialalnosci) is populated almost exclusively for hospital pharmacies and never mentions cannabis. On shortages: the only official instrument is the wykaz produktów zagrożonych brakiem dostępności issued under art. 37av ust. 14 Prawa farmaceutycznego; the current edition (Obwieszczenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 1 września 2026 r., Dz. Urz. Min. Zdrow. 2026 poz. 63) contains no cannabis entry, and neither did the 8 July 2026 edition. Shortages reported by patients therefore have no official documentary trace.

Source: Obwieszczenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 1 września 2026 r. w sprawie wykazu produktów leczniczych (...) zagrożonych brakiem dostępności (Dz. Urz. Min. Zdrow. 2026 poz. 63) — checked for cannabis entries, none found · read 6 September 2026

Reimbursement

Whether anyone other than you pays for it.

There is none. No cannabis raw material and no cannabis-based compounded medicine appears anywhere on the Polish reimbursement list. The only cannabis-derived medicine that is reimbursed is Epidyolex (pure cannabidiol), and only inside two narrow hospital drug programmes for rare epilepsies. Every cannabis patient in Poland pays 100% of the price.

Obwieszczenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 17 czerwca 2026 r. w sprawie wykazu refundowanych leków, środków spożywczych specjalnego przeznaczenia żywieniowego oraz wyrobów medycznych (Dz. Urz. Min. Zdrow. 2026 poz. 46), as amended by poz. 58 of 13 August 2026. A full text search of the list returns exactly one cannabis-related row: "Cannabidiolum — Epidyolex, roztwór doustny, 100 mg/ml, 1 but. 100 ml (...) B.153.; B.154.FM. — bezpłatny — 0 zł", i.e. a drug-programme entry, free at the point of use. Nothing under Cannabis flos, konopie, ziele konopi, tetrahydrokannabinol, or Sativex. Reimbursement of a lek recepturowy also depends on its raw materials appearing in the reimbursement list; cannabis does not, and it is absent from the NFZ "Wykaz limitów finansowania za jednostkę surowca farmaceutycznego służącego do sporządzenia leku recepturowego" as well. No official figure exists for how many patients receive any cover, because the answer is zero.

Source: Obwieszczenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 17 czerwca 2026 r. w sprawie wykazu refundowanych leków (Dz. Urz. Min. Zdrow. 2026 poz. 46) · read 6 September 2026

What it costs

What you pay, as far as anyone publishes it.

Pharmacy prices are unregulated and vary enormously between pharmacies for the identical product. On 6 September 2026 a 10 g pack of Cannabis flos Aurora THC 22% was offered between 239.99 zł and 799.90 zł, and a 15 g pack of Cannabis flos S-LAB THC 22% between 269.00 zł and 1,020.78 zł — roughly 18 to 80 zł per gram for the same material depending on where you buy it. A patient using 30 g a month should budget in the order of 1,000–2,000 zł per month, all of it out of pocket.

Because nothing here is reimbursed, the price-fixing machinery of the ustawa o refundacji does not apply and each pharmacy sets its own price, adding its own compounding fee (the statutory taksa laborum of 31,81 zł in § 6 rozporządzenia MZ z 6 listopada 2012 r., t.j. Dz. U. z 2025 r. poz. 388, binds only reimbursed compounded medicines). The legal constraint on publishing prices to the public is art. 94a ust. 1 ustawy — Prawo farmaceutyczne: "Zabroniona jest reklama aptek i punktów aptecznych oraz ich działalności. Nie stanowi reklamy informacja o lokalizacji i godzinach pracy apteki lub punktu aptecznego." Only location and opening hours are exempt, and the wojewódzki inspektor farmaceutyczny can order a pharmacy to stop anything he treats as advertising (art. 94a ust. 2–4). That is why Polish pharmacies do not publish price lists themselves and why the prices above come from the aggregator GdziePoLek rather than from a named pharmacy's own website.

Source: GdziePoLek — Cannabis flos S-LAB THC 22%, CBD ≤ 1%, ceny w aptekach (15 g: 269,00–1 020,78 zł) and Cannabis flos Aurora Ghost Train Haze THC 22% (10 g: 239,99–799,90 zł) · read 6 September 2026

Driving

The question with the worst consequences and the least reliable information online.

Poland has no legal blood-THC limit — none. Driving is forbidden to anyone in a state "after use of" or "under the influence of" a substance acting like alcohol (art. 45 ust. 1 pkt 1 Prawa o ruchu drogowym); THC is on that list. Depending on how the court reads your condition, the charge is either a wykroczenie under art. 87 § 1 Kodeksu wykroczeń (arrest or a fine of at least 2,500 zł, plus a mandatory driving ban) or a crime under art. 178a § 1 Kodeksu karnego (up to 3 years' imprisonment). A valid prescription is not a defence to either: nothing in these provisions creates a patient exemption. It protects you against a possession charge, not against a driving charge.

Art. 45 ust. 1 pkt 1 ustawy z dnia 20 czerwca 1997 r. – Prawo o ruchu drogowym (t.j. Dz. U. z 2024 r. poz. 1251): "Zabrania się: kierowania pojazdem (...) osobie w stanie nietrzeźwości, w stanie po użyciu alkoholu lub środka działającego podobnie do alkoholu". Art. 87 § 1 Kodeksu wykroczeń (t.j. Dz. U. z 2025 r. poz. 734): "Kto, znajdując się w stanie po użyciu alkoholu lub podobnie działającego środka, prowadzi pojazd mechaniczny (...) podlega karze aresztu albo grzywny nie niższej niż 2500 złotych"; § 3 makes the driving ban mandatory. Art. 178a § 1 Kodeksu karnego (t.j. Dz. U. z 2025 r. poz. 383): "Kto, znajdując się w stanie nietrzeźwości lub pod wpływem środka odurzającego, prowadzi pojazd mechaniczny (...) podlega karze pozbawienia wolności do lat 3". Which substances count is fixed by § 1 pkt 4 rozporządzenia Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 16 lipca 2014 r. w sprawie wykazu środków działających podobnie do alkoholu (Dz. U. 2014 poz. 948), issued under art. 129j ust. 5 Prawa o ruchu drogowym: "Środkami działającymi podobnie do alkoholu są: (...) 4) tetrahydrokanabinole". The figure often quoted as a limit, 1 ng/ml, is not a limit: § 3 ust. 4 pkt 4 of that regulation sets it as the granica oznaczalności (LOQ) for delta-9-THC in blood, i.e. the analytical detection floor, and 20 ng/ml as the LOQ for the THC-COOH metabolite in urine. Do not confuse this with rozporządzenie MZ z 16 lutego 2023 r. (Dz. U. 2023 poz. 317), which looks similar but is issued under art. 221g Kodeksu pracy and governs workplace testing, not driving. Testing powers: art. 129ja and art. 129k Prawa o ruchu drogowym — police may test any driver on reasonable suspicion, and must test any driver involved in an injury or fatal crash.

Source: Rozporządzenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 16 lipca 2014 r. w sprawie wykazu środków działających podobnie do alkoholu oraz warunków i sposobu przeprowadzania badań na ich obecność w organizmie (Dz. U. 2014 poz. 948) · read 6 September 2026

Travel

Taking it across a border, which is where most published advice is simply wrong.

To carry your cannabis to another Schengen country you need the Article 75 certificate, and in Poland it is issued by the wojewódzki inspektor farmaceutyczny (WIF) for the province where you live — not by your doctor, not by the pharmacy, not by the Główny Inspektor Farmaceutyczny. Apply at least 15 days before you cross the border; the certificate is valid for a maximum of 30 days, so a longer trip is not covered. For travel outside the Schengen area the equivalent document comes from the Główny Inspektor Farmaceutyczny instead.

§ 5 ust. 1 rozporządzenia Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 8 czerwca 2026 r. w sprawie pozwoleń i dokumentów niezbędnych do przywozu, wywozu, wewnątrzwspólnotowego nabycia lub wewnątrzwspólnotowej dostawy środków odurzających, substancji psychotropowych lub prekursorów kategorii 1 (Dz. U. 2026 poz. 827, in force 12 July 2026): "Właściwy wojewódzki inspektor farmaceutyczny wydaje dokumenty umożliwiające wewnątrzwspólnotową dostawę środków odurzających (...) na własne potrzeby lecznicze zgodnie z instrukcją określoną w decyzji Komitetu Wykonawczego z dnia 22 grudnia 1994 r. w sprawie zaświadczenia przewidzianego w art. 75 do celów przewożenia środków odurzających i substancji psychotropowych". § 5 ust. 2: "Dokument wydaje się na czas określony, niedłuższy niż 30 dni, na podstawie wniosku złożonego niepóźniej niż 15 dni przed dniem przekroczenia granicy Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej." § 6 gives the parallel non-Schengen document to the Główny Inspektor Farmaceutyczny, on application by the patient with a prescription or medical records attached, on pink security paper. Statutory basis: art. 37 ust. 10 and 12 ustawy o przeciwdziałaniu narkomanii. The form is Załącznik nr 4 to the regulation; WIFs also accept a doctor-completed copy of it in place of a current prescription.

Source: Rozporządzenie Ministra Zdrowia z dnia 8 czerwca 2026 r. (Dz. U. 2026 poz. 827), § 5 i § 6 · read 6 September 2026

As a visitor or new resident

Four things nobody publishes together: getting a prescription as a non-resident, using a prescription from another EU country, bringing your own medicine in, and whether a foreign video consultation counts.

A foreigner can be prescribed cannabis in Poland if a Polish doctor examines them in person; the e-prescription can be issued without a PESEL number, but this is not stated on an official page we could open. Prescriptions from other EU countries are not usable for cannabis, because Polish cross-border prescriptions exclude 'Rpw' narcotic medicines. For your own medicine, Schengen travellers use the Article 75 certificate (up to 30 days); certificates for non-EU/Schengen travel are issued by the Chief Pharmaceutical Inspectorate.

1. Non-residents: no residency or nationality condition appears in the MZ prescription rules; the practical gates are the in-person examination requirement (since Nov 2024) and e-prescription identity — Polish e-prescriptions can be issued to patients without PESEL using another identity document, but the official CeZ/pacjent.gov.pl pages could not be opened (WAF/404), so 'not published' here. 2. Prescriptions from another EU state: the Ministry of Health explains that on a recepta transgraniczna (cross-border prescription, the Polish transposition of Directive 2011/24/EU Art. 11) 'nie może być przepisany lek o kategorii dostępności „Rpw”, czyli taki, który zawiera środki odurzające lub substancje psychotropowe' — cannabis raw materials are Rpw, so a foreign cannabis prescription cannot be dispensed in a Polish pharmacy; compounded (recepturowe) medicines are in any case prepared per Polish prescription. Statutory basis (Prawo farmaceutyczne art. 96a) not opened. 3. Bringing medicine in: GIF (Główny Inspektorat Farmaceutyczny, Chief Pharmaceutical Inspectorate) page 'Przewóz leków kontrolowanych przez granicę' (updated 26.08.2026): 'Główny Inspektor Farmaceutyczny nie wydaje dokumentów dla podróżujących do krajów należących do Unii Europejskiej, jak i Strefy Schengen' — for EU/Schengen travel the Article 75 certificate is handled by the regional (wojewódzki) pharmaceutical inspectorates; for other countries GIF issues a paper document on application with an e-prescription printout or a doctor's certificate issued no earlier than 120 days before travel; the document 'authorises crossing only Polish borders'. Quantity/day limits for visitors entering Poland are not stated on that page ('not published'). 4. Foreign telemedicine prescriptions: not dispensable (Rpw exclusion, point 2); Polish online consultations may prescribe cannabis only after a prior in-person examination.

Source: Ministerstwo Zdrowia (Ministry of Health) — Recepta transgraniczna (cross-border prescription; Rpw exclusion) · read 27 September 2026

What is changing

What is pending in parliament or at the regulator, with dates — or the statement that nothing is.

Not published

The main recent change is the November 2024 rule that a first prescription for a narcotic/psychotropic medicine (including cannabis) requires an in-person examination, which ended questionnaire-only online prescribing. No further pending change was identified on the official pages opened, but the primary legal texts could not be accessed.

Since 7 November 2024 a Ministry of Health regulation amending the rules for medicines containing środki odurzające/substancje psychotropowe requires the prescribing physician to have personally examined the patient before issuing an Rpw prescription (with limited continuation exceptions); this is widely reported and reflected in market practice, but neither the Dz.U. text nor a gov.pl explainer could be opened this session (isap.sejm.gov.pl, dziennikustaw.gov.pl and api.sejm.gov.pl are robots-blocked; gov.pl search pages redirect to the portal home), so the exact Dz.U. citation and exception wording are NOT verified here. The MZ prescription page (07.01.2025) already reflects Rpw-only e-prescription and the 90-day cap. GIF's traveller page was updated 26.08.2026 without substantive change. No bill on cannabis reimbursement, product registration or telemedicine was found on the MZ news pages opened.

Source: Ministerstwo Zdrowia (Ministry of Health) — Recepta (prescription rules), updated 07.01.2025 · read 27 September 2026

Number of patients

How many people this actually concerns — where anyone counts.

Not published

There is no official published figure. Centrum e-Zdrowia holds the prescription data but does not publish any breakdown by substance, so no citable government number for cannabis patients exists. The widely repeated "about 105,000 patients, 537,000 prescriptions and 5,071 kg" is real CeZ data in origin but reached the public second-hand, and it covers 1 January to 15 December 2025, not the full year.

Checked against the source: Centrum e-Zdrowia's own public statistics product, the interactive e-recepta report at ezdrowie.gov.pl ("e-zdrowie w liczbach: e-recepta"), breaks prescriptions down by time, region, age, sex and payment category only — there is no medicine- or substance-level dimension, and no cannabis figure anywhere in the Zdrowe Dane portal. The 105,000 / 537,000 / 5,071 kg set traces to a cannabis-trade news site (faktykonopne.pl), which attributes it to CeZ via a named pharmacist rather than to any CeZ document, and states the period as 1 January – 15 December 2025. The pattern is consistent: every CeZ cannabis number in circulation was obtained by a journalist or company on request — CeZ told Rynek Zdrowia about 72,000 prescriptions in October 2024 falling to 31,000 in November 2024; CeZ figures reported by Medonet give 66,071 (Aug 2024), 65,903 (Sep), 72,826 (Oct), 45,622 (Nov), 33,153 (Dec), 37,797 (Jan 2025), 35,907 (Feb 2025); The two series disagree for November 2024 — about 31,000 against 45,622 — which is exactly what happens when no statistic is published and each request is answered separately; CeZ figures reported by Rynek Zdrowia give 1.1 tonnes dispensed in 2022 and 4.6 tonnes in 2023. None of these is published by CeZ or the Ministry itself, and no Ministry answer to a parliamentary interpelacja could be retrieved to confirm them (see notes).

Source: Centrum e-Zdrowia, "e-zdrowie w liczbach: e-recepta" — the official e-prescription statistics, which contain no substance-level breakdown · read 6 September 2026

What we can publish for Poland, and what we cannot

Four directories, four honest answers. Where an official register exists we republish it and link every entry back to the source. Where none exists, that is what the page says — a list built out of self-declarations would be worse than no list, and saying so is more useful to you than pretending.

Doctors

No list — by design

There is no public register in Poland from which a list of cannabis-prescribing doctors could be built. The Centralny Rejestr Lekarzy, kept by the Naczelna Izba Lekarska, is publicly searchable but only one doctor at a time, by surname or licence number, with no browsable listing, no bulk download and no open-data export; the public record it returns holds a doctor's name, licence status, chamber, professional title, country of qualification, specialisations, titles and skills, and nothing whatsoever about what they prescribe. The Rejestr Podmiotów Wykonujących Działalność Leczniczą (RPWDL) likewise lists medical entities and individual practices and the services they are registered to provide, but records no medicine-level data and no mention of cannabis. In short, the registers exist and are official, but they record nothing about cannabis, so any Polish “cannabis doctor” list is commercial self-declaration rather than a public register, and we will not publish one as if it were verified.

Register: Centralny Rejestr Lekarzy (Naczelna Izba Lekarska); Rejestr Podmiotów Wykonujących Działalność Leczniczą (RPWDL, Centrum e-Zdrowia) · read 6 September 2026

Pharmacies

No list — by design

Poland has excellent open data on pharmacies and none at all on cannabis compounding. The Rejestr Aptek publishes a daily bulk export — the file retrieved on 6 September 2026 held 23,990 entries, of which 10,970 are active apteki ogólnodostępne — with address, opening hours, mail-order status, the responsible pharmacist and the permit details, but not one of its 76 fields records whether a pharmacy compounds a cannabis lek recepturowy or holds the raw material in stock; the only field describing scope of activity (zakres działalności) is filled in for about twenty, mostly hospital, pharmacies and mentions only aseptic compounding and cytostatics. No other official source — not the Główny Inspektorat Farmaceutyczny, not the Ministry of Health, not the NFZ — publishes a list of pharmacies that actually prepare cannabis prescriptions. A directory of all 10,970 pharmacies would therefore not be a cannabis directory, and we will not present it as one; in practice a patient has to ring round, or use a pharmacy availability search that is a commercial service rather than a register.

Register: Rejestr Aptek (Centrum e-Zdrowia) – dane otwarte, plik zbiorczy aktualizowany codziennie · read 6 September 2026

Products and preparations

Directory published

Poland has the most verifiable cannabis product list in Europe, because cannabis here is authorised as a pharmaceutical raw material (surowiec farmaceutyczny) and every authorisation is recorded in a state register with a bulk machine-readable export refreshed daily. The Lista Surowców Farmaceutycznych held 68 cannabis entries on 6 September 2026 — 56 flower and 12 extract, from 22 authorisation holders, with THC from 1% to 30% — and each entry carries its authorisation number, holder and validity date, so six entries whose authorisation has lapsed are shown as expired rather than quietly dropped. What the register does not tell you is whether any of it is actually on a pharmacy shelf, who manufactured it or where it was grown: the manufacturer field is empty for every cannabis entry.

Register: Lista Surowców Farmaceutycznych (URPL / Centrum e-Zdrowia) – eksport zbiorczy XML, stan na dzień 2026-09-06 · read 6 September 2026

Open the products and preparations directory

Telemedicine platforms

Directory published

Poland is the one country in this comparison where a clinic list can be checked against the state itself. The Rejestr Podmiotów Wykonujących Działalność Leczniczą (RPWDL) records every entity licensed to carry out medical activity, with a book number, a registering authority — a wojewoda for a podmiot leczniczy, an okręgowa izba lekarska for an individual practice — and an entry status. It says nothing whatever about cannabis, and we say so on the page; what it does answer is the question a patient about to pay for a consultation actually has, which is whether the brand on the landing page corresponds to a registered provider at all. Seventeen do. The brands we searched for and could not find in RPWDL under any name are listed too, with the reason, because those are the ones a reader most needs to be warned about.

Limit we hold ourselves to: Telemedicine is the part the law closes. Since 7 November 2024 the rozporządzenie Ministra Zdrowia of 29 October 2024 (Dz. U. 2024 poz. 1600) puts cannabis herb, its extracts and pharmaceutical tinctures at item 4 of załącznik nr 2, and cannabis resin at item 5 — substances that may be prescribed only after the prescriber has personally examined the patient. The single exception (§ 7 ust. 2d) is an NFZ-contracted podstawowa opieka zdrowotna doctor continuing treatment already begun, and it does not cover the night-and-holiday service. A first cannabis prescription therefore cannot lawfully be obtained online in Poland, and a service promising an e-recepta without an examination is promising something the regulation does not allow. That is why almost every entry on our list is an in-person practice.

Register: Rejestr Podmiotów Wykonujących Działalność Leczniczą (RPWDL 2.0, Centrum e-Zdrowia) — wyszukiwarka publiczna · read 6 September 2026

Open the telemedicine platforms directory

Where this country's law lives

Everything above comes from these texts rather than from another portal's summary. They are listed so you can check us.

Crossing a border with this

Two European rules decide most of what a traveller asks. Directive 2011/24/EU obliges pharmacies to honour prescriptions from another Member State — but only for medicines authorised in the dispensing country, and its Article 11(6) says the rule “shall not apply to medicinal products subject to special medical prescription”, which is where narcotic prescriptions sit. A magistral cannabis preparation is neither authorised nor outside that exclusion, so a cannabis prescription from another country is, as a rule, not dispensable anywhere in Europe. For carrying your own medicine, Article 75 of the Schengen Convention lets a resident of a Schengen state travel with a certified supply for up to 30 days; outside Schengen, national import rules apply. The country-specific answer is above under “As a visitor or new resident”.

Directive 2011/24/EU, Article 11(1) and 11(6) — read on EUR-Lex on 27 September 2026: CELEX 32011L0024.

The same questions, elsewhere

The answers change at every border, and a prescription does not travel with you. Compare before you assume.